top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureprojectvanformsfs

June 2022 Development Update - Quiet Month

Hi everyone! I hope you have been enjoying the latest update of Project YVR. I have been taking a little bit longer with my recent updates, since I have to focus on studies right now, as I have finals approaching in June. Once those are out of the way though, updates will be much faster, as I will have more time to spend on Project YVR. 90% of my mod work is done during holidays, so I'll definitely make it a priority this summer.


Over the last few weeks, I've been reviewing feedback for Project YVR and including new community-requested features in the mod. I really appreciate all community feedback, and I do have an internal roadmap, however, over the next few days, I will be transitioning to a new platform. I have created a new Trello, which will have a feature request list and bug tracker. These will be populated and sorted, so I can prioritize addressing community suggestions faster. You can check out the Trello board here, however, it won't have anything on it until next week: https://trello.com/b/I7S8OeQ8/public-roadmap

(This will also be on the 'roadmap' page of this site)


One community requested feature that was released in v0.6.4 of Project YVR was 3D modelled lights in the terminal. I had this feature in the original release of Project YVR, but this was with a lower poly model that did not look as good. The new lights are round, which doesn't have a big impact on performance, but also looks much better. The feature is currently available in the Pier D Expansion, however, it has been expanded internally to the full airport, and will be included with the next update.







Another community requested feature was more detailed roof texturing and weathering. This is an area that Proejct YVR has been lacking in, making the airport look smooth from higher altitudes, which prevents it from blending in with it's environment, or looking realistic. I have decided to use decals over the existing textures, in order to continue using the higher resolution procedural concrete textures, while still having variation. This feature is still open to change, as it is an early implementation, and may look different upon release, however, after some tweaking, I anticipate that a similar result will be released in the public build in the future.


v0.6.4

New Weathering Effects

The difference is more noticeable from higher altitudes:

v0.6.4

New Weathering Effects






Additional details through decals have also been added to the roof, making Project YVR look even more realistic.



As I am busy most of this month, I will likely not release any updates until July, however, the July update will be a much bigger update, which will likely be v0.7, with other new features which I'll keep a secret for now 👀


If you'd like to hear more about Project YVR's progress or make any suggestions, you can always join the Discord here. I try to post weekly updates on new features, and I take suggestions directly from the #suggestions channel for future updates.



Thank you for reading, and looking forward to a summer filled with new updates!



90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page